What is Your Pursuit?

We are at the time in the semester when all you see are your deadlines, your upcoming tests, orals, projects, assignments and it’s difficult to see the light. However, I’m writing this because I strongly feel it is important for every one of us to stop, and THINK. Ask yourself these three questions, as I did so myself. What you are doing? Why you are doing it? What exactly are your pursuing, what is your end goal?

It is so easy to forget why you are doing what you are doing in the first place. We simply just go with the flow and say “I’ll figure it out later.”

Honestly, I’m kind of sick of pushing it off until later. I want to find one or several things I want to change in this world. I want to make an impact. I don’t simply just want to go to school, graduate and get a job to get money. I want more than that.

I’m writing this because I want to make myself accountable for it later, so I don’t forget. The problem is young people have lots of ambition, dreams and beautiful goals and aspirations, that help themselves and others. However, adults try to help us by keeping us focused and telling us to be realistic, we’re too young to make an impact.

So what do I wish to change?

I want people and more specifically girls to love themselves more, and not need to seek anyone’s validation. I want everyone to offer the world more than how they look hot in social media posts. I want innocent people to stop dying because of a political conflict. I want people in power to stop abusing their power and do good things for their citizens. I want children to have safe homes they can come to, and not worry whether a drone will kill them in a click of a button. I want every person to not go to sleep when they’re starving. I want every person to go to sleep in a HOME, not on the streets. I want boys AND girls in conflict zones and underdeveloped countries to have access to education, but what I mostly want from me and everyone around me who does have access to education and other resources to think about what you want to change in this world, and how you want to make an impact on the lives of others.

I feel extremely lucky and grateful that I can go to University, eat delicious food, and come home to a safe haven, knowing millions of others would die to be in my shoes. But all my blessings aren’t because I deserve all this. They’re blessings to help me help others that are less fortunate in any way that I can. I don’t know how yet, and I don’t know if I’ll be able to change anything alone, but I know I shouldn’t stop trying to pursue positive change in this world.

Leave a Reply

